While Texas does not have any specific statutes that are labeled “domestic violence”, these crimes are generally prosecuted as misdemeanor assault charges. One important factor one must be aware of if facing domestic violence charges is that prosecutors do not need the accuser to move forward with prosecution in domestic assault charges. Anyone facing these charges should contact a criminal defense attorney who has experience with domestic violence cases because a conviction has serious consequences.
In most cases, domestic assault or violence is charged as misdemeanors. When a victim has not suffered physical pain or long-term harm, they are considered a Class C misdemeanor and the offense can carry a $500 fine. Any sign of bruising, cuts or even red marks caused by a slap would be considered a Class A misdemeanor and a guilty plea or finding could mean up to a year in jail and fines of up to $4,000. Subsequent charges of domestic violence of those that include choking may result in a third-degree felony charge and a guilty finding could mean up to 10 years in a Texas penitentiary.
Unfortunately, fines and jail time may not be the only consequences a person is found guilty or pleas out on a domestic violence charge. Other penalties may have longer-term ramifications including:
The long-term consequences of a domestic violence conviction are incredibly serious. While you may think that a misdemeanor conviction is not severe, there are unintended consequences when the charges involve family members. If you are facing any domestic violence charges in Texas, consult with the experienced legal team at the Hill Law Firm immediately by calling us at (713) 623-8312 or contact us online.